Framework | NVQ System | Levels | NVQ Assessment



  To identify and develop NVQ levels in a particular standard  
  • A group comprised with the experts in the respective trade, supervisors and senior managers are got together to develop National Skills Standards. A skill standard is a document which defines competency units pertaining to a certain skills, its elements, and its standards, comprise with range of activities required for knowledge competencies and attitudes.
  • And the competency units are identified based on the industry requirements of a particular occupation.

NVQ Levels

Level Award Description
1 Certificate For craftsmen who possess basic skills and entry level competencies.
2 Certificate For craftsmen who need direct & regular supervision
3 Certificate For craftsmen who need occasional guidance
4 Certificate For craftsmen who who could work independently
5 Diploma For Supervisors
6 Higher Diploma For Managers
7 Degree equivalent For decision makers
Phone: +94 (0) 115849291, Fax: +94 (0) 112555007, Email:
'Nipunatha Piyasa' (3rd Floor), 354/2, Elvitigala Mw, Colombo 05, Sri Lanka.